avatar February 13, 2012, 4:50 am

EMT Programs

by: Mike    Category: EMT Schools & Resources
email this postEmail This Post Print This PostPrint This Post Post a CommentPost a Comment



Depending on the EMT certification you wish to obtain, there are different classes you may register to.


Each level corresponds to a different certification and requires different classes. Look at the following description to know which EMT training programs are required.


First Responder

The first responders cannot really qualify as certified EMTs but play an important role in each community. They are required to pass a First Responder certification which is the equivalent to a 40-60 hours training program. They become familiar with CPR, Oxygen administration, AED, bandaging, splinting and emergency childbirth.


We can find many unpaid volunteers acting as first responders in our community. If you want to become an EMT, you should look at the different levels of certification below:


paramedic & ambulanceEMT-Basic


This is the first level of certification. This is basically how you get your first job in the Emergency Medical Services. This program is not invasive and covers about 110 hours in classroom education. At the end of the EMT training a written test as well as a practical test is required to obtain your EMT license under NREMT rules and guidances.


EMT-Basic are trained on bleeding control, equipment usage, splinting (include full spinal immobilization for ambulance transport) oxygen administration, airway management. They are basically trained to assist any patients suffering from an accident, cardiac arrest or any other type of trauma.





EMT-Intermediate 1985


There are 2 levels of EMT-Intermediate: 1985 and 1999 and both levels require an EMT-Basic certification completed. The EMT-Intermediate 1985 has more advanced skills compared to the EMT-Basic and is able to provide a better assessment of the patient’s condition. The responsibilities and names may vary from State to State. Check here for your State certifications.


EMT-Intermediate 1999

EMT-Intermediate 1999 represents the most advanced level of EMT-Intermediate training. In addition to EMT-Basic and EMT-Intermediate 1985, the 99’s are able to implement cardiac monitoring and provide more pharmaceutical interventions.


Both intermediate levels require NREMT examinations and give between 200 and 400 hours of classes.



Paramedics are the most knowledgeable and skillful EMTs. They are by far the elite of emergency medical technicians. Paramedics are known as the “best” prehospital medical providers.


Paramedic certification is usually done through a 1 to 2 years program at a community college or technical school. It results of having over 1,000 hours of training.


Paramedics can assist patients to a higher level of complexity and master complicated emergency procedures and cares. They are used in extreme situation and are highly valuable to the EMT team.


 image credit


Comments are closed.